Skip to main content
External Scholarships

Three Counties Agricultural Society Bursary in memory of Joe Henson MBE - Gloucs, Hereford, Worcs.

Please note: Applications for this scholarship are now closed, for more information please contact the Development Trust Office.


The Three Counties Agricultural Society is pleased to announce the launch of the 2019 bursary in memory of former Society President, Joe Henson MBE.

The bursary is an award of £1,000 per year, for up to 3 years, to support students studying a land based subject, who are normally resident in either of the three counties of Gloucestershire, Herefordshire or Worcestershire.

Applicants can be studying at either further, higher or post-graduate level, provided it is full-time and that they are 18-23 years old at the start of their course. The course can be at any recognised college or university anywhere in the world.

Eligibility of Applicants

a. To be a resident within the three counties of Gloucestershire, Herefordshire or Worcestershire for a minimum of 12 months prior to application. Not necessarily studying in the three counties.

b. Applicants must be aged 18 to 23 years at the outset of the Bursary.

c. Commencing, or continuing, a course of study where agriculture, horticulture, arboriculture, apiculture, forestry, rural crafts and skills and conservation, or related subjects form a major part of their course.

d. The course of study must be full time and of Further, Higher or Post Graduate education level.

e. Be accepted to take up a place of study at an educational institution.

f. Applicants will be assessed on merit. No means test will be involved.

Application Process

All applicants should complete the application form, giving full and detailed answers outlining why they wish to be considered for the bursary. The bursary is not means tested. Applicants should outline what they would use the bursary for and demonstrate how they have already shown commitment to a career in the land based industries.

Applications are assessed by a panel and scored on their content. Where it is deemed necessary, short listed applicants will be asked to attend an interview with the Three Counties Bursary Board. Typically, the Society will award two bursaries per year, but this may vary, depending on the quality and quantity of the applications, with the Society reserving the right to not award any bursaries if the panel does not judge any of the applications to be of sufficient quality.

CLOSING DATE IS 31 August 2020. All bursary applications must be posted, with an accompanying letter to;

Mr Ken Nottage, Chief Executive.

Three Counties Agricultural Society

Three Counties Showground



WR13 6NW

For more information and to download an applicant pack visit



Contact details

For further information on this scholarship please contact:

Development Trust Office

Tel: +44(0)1952 81 5095

Closing date

Monday 31 August 2020


Cookies on the Harper Adams University website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.