Skip to main content
Harper Adams University logo
    How to Apply

    T Levels

    Harper Adams University welcomes the development of T levels and their focus on allowing students to follow a technical education from age 16.

    While primarily aimed at progression into employment or other technical courses, such as degree apprenticeships, T levels are also suitable for progression into related subjects in Higher Education.

    What are T levels?

    Introduced from September 2020, T levels are a post-16 qualifications that have been developed in conjunction with employers to ensure that the content meets the needs of industry and prepares students for the world of work in those specific areas or allows for progression into higher education.  Based on the same standards as apprenticeships, they total around 1800 hours over 2 years, which is a significant increase on most technical courses. They involve a mixture of classroom-based learning, which is focussed on core theory, concepts and skills for an industry area with specialist skills and knowledge for specific occupations, and on-the-job experience with an industry placement for at least 45 days. Minimum standards of English and Maths must be achieved if students have not already done so.

    What subjects are available?

    In September 2020, three courses were made available. For September 2021, a further seven have been made available, including Science. A much wider range of courses, such as Agriculture, Land Management and Production, Animal Care and Management, Engineering, Manufacturing, Processing and Control and Management and Administration will be launched in 2022 or 2023. Further details, and an up-to-date list of providers can be found on the T level subjects webpage.

    How are they graded?

    Students who pass all elements of their course will receive an overall grade of either Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction*. The certificate will provide a breakdown and grades for the individual elements of the course as follows:

    • the overall grade - Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*
    • a separate grade for the core component, using A* to E
    • a separate grade for each occupational specialism studied, shown as Pass, Merit or Distinction
    • confirmation that the minimum requirements for English and Maths qualifications have been met
    • confirmation that the industry placement has been successfully completed
    • confirmation that any additional mandatory requirements have been met

    UCAS points, in line with 3 A levels have been allocated to T levels as the size and rigour of the programme is comparable, however the qualifications do have different purposes. The T Level programme is intended to help students develop the knowledge and technical skills required for skilled employment. T Levels and A Levels therefore measure different abilities, using different grading scales, so entry requirements will not be aligned to A levels, in the same way that those for BTEC qualifications also differ.

    UCAS Tariff points

    T level Overall Grade

    A level Grades

    BTEC Extended Diploma Grade


    Distinction* (A* in the core and Distinction in occupational specialism)












    Pass (C or above in the core)




    Pass (D or E in the core)



    Entry Requirements for Harper Adams courses

    Harper Adams University is pleased to confirm that it considers T levels as acceptable for entry for the majority of its courses and that specific entry requirements for T levels, can now be found on the individual course pages.  If you have any questions at all, please contact Admissions on 

    Contact us

    Faccenda (Student Centre)
    +44 (0)1952 81 5000

    Cookies on the Harper Adams University website

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.