Skip to main content

Students receive £418,000 in scholarship awards

Posted 22 February 2018

The Avara Foods scholars and company representatives

The total value of scholarships awarded to Harper Adams University students continues to rise, with £418,000 being shared between 133 students in 2017/18.

At the annual scholarships presentation event held on February 14, Development Trust Chairman Anthony Burgess said: “That is a very long way from the £17,000 given to 21 students when we started awarding scholarships 12 years ago.”

Mr Burgess went on to thank all of the sponsors, the Development Trust staff and the academic staff who had all worked hard to make the awards and the event possible, as well as to congratulate the 133 students receiving scholarships.

This year there was a 50/50 split between companies awarding scholarships to develop talent for their industry and charitable trusts, other organisations and individuals providing awards of a philanthropic nature.

“That the corporate donors are seeking the best students for their companies in no way diminishes their enormous generosity. But today is not just about cash going over to the students, it is also about building confidence in this group of people. These are openly competitive scholarships, and each has had to work to prove themselves a worthy scholar.”

Mr Burgess said that 561 students had applied for scholarships, with 184 making it to interview and 133 successfully securing awards. He gave particular thanks to the academic staff who, as well as guiding the students through their studies, had given their time to assist with the interviews to ensure the best candidates were selected.

Harper Adams University and its Development Trust would like to thank the individuals and organisations behind all of the following awards:

The Agrii Scholarship

The Alamo Group Scholarship

The Barham Benevolent Foundation Scholarship

The Ros Barsley Scholarship

The Douglas Bomford Trust Scholarship

The Butchers’ and Drovers’ Charitable Trust Undergraduate Bursary

The British Poultry Council Scholarships sponsored by Aviagen; Bernard Matthews; Avara Foods; Gressingham Foods; Kelly Bronze; PD Hook; and Moy Park

The CLAAS Scholarship

The Country Land and Business Association Charitable Trust Scholarship

Dalehead Foods Scholarship

The Development Trust Chairman’s Discretionary Award

The ForFarmers Ruminant Scholarship

The Harper Adams Club Scholarships

The John Hepworth Scholarship

The Clyde Higgs MSc Scholarship

The Clyde Higgs Undergraduate Scholarship

The Harper Adams University Hospitality Scholarship

The Jean Jackson Charitable Trust Scholarship

The Lord Leverhulme Charitable Trust Scholarship

The Brian & Georgina Lewis Scholarship

The John Longwill Agricultural Scholarship

The Mays-Smith Scholarship

The Richard Matson Scholarship

The Mercer Scholarship

The Millichope Foundation PhD Scholarship

The Millichope Foundation Scholarship

The Newport & District Agricultural Society Scholarship

The Organic Farmers & Growers Scholarship

The Pig Industry Scholarships, sponsored by Cargill Animal Nutrition; Devenish Nutrition; and ForFarmers

The Rabobank Agri-food Scholarship in association with Marks & Spencer

The Paul Singleton Scholarship

The Lord Stafford Scholarship

The Staffordshire & Birmingham Agricultural Society Scholarship

The Studley College Trust Scholarship

The Syngenta Scholarship

The Velcourt Scholarship

The Jill Willows Scholarship

The Paul Wilson Scholarship

The Worshipful Company of Poulters’ Scholarship

The Wilson Wraight Scholarship

Scholarships exclusive to students from the Island of Ireland: Alltech Ireland; Devenish Nutrition; Elanco; and the Enniskillen Royal Grammar School (formerly Portora Royal) award.

Cookies on the Harper Adams University website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.