Skip to main content

Students receive £360,000 in scholarships

Posted 18 February 2016

Today we are celebrating the success of some of our very best students."

Cargill Animal Nutrtion scholar Lottie Farrow with Tim Sawyer, from Cargill

The total of scholarships awarded at Harper Adams University has risen yet again this year, with 106 students sharing awards worth a total of £360,000. 

This total for 2015/16 represents at 24 per cent rise in the value of scholarship donations since 2014/15, when the total was £290,000.

This week 130 awards were formally presented to 106 students by their sponsors and academic staff, with all uniting to celebrate the scholars' achievements. The Trust was pleased to welcome six new scholarships sponsors this year (marked in the list below).  

Opening the event, University Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Mills said: “Welcome to our sponsors, long-standing and new. To the new sponsors, welcome to the family. It’s a happy family and today is a good example of that. Today we are celebrating the success of some of our very best students. Based on the calibre of our students and the links that we have with industry, Harper Adams has an increasingly important position in the sector.

“As an example, in 2015, we had the largest intake of students ever to the university and applications for 2016 are significantly higher again - and that is down to the hard work of all the staff here at the university.

“Thanks to the Development Trust team, who work incredibly hard with our sponsors and in organising today’s presentation. Massive thanks, obviously, to the sponsors. Without you this event would not happen. And thanks to Tony Burgess, Chairman of the Development Trust, who has seen the value of scholarships grow from £17,000 to today’s value of £360,000.

“That is coming from you, our sponsors, and it is fabulous that the students will be able to make good use of that funding. But Tony, without you at the helm that probably would not have happened.

“Tony was awarded an MBE in this year’s New Year Honours. He has had a long association with Harper Adams going back to the 1970s and, among other things he has been Chairman of our board. But you are now doing an immensely valuable job with the Development Trust for us. And we are very proud of the fact that you have been recognised for your contribution to higher education.”

Professor Mills then proposed that the audience deliver the first round of applause of the event to Mr Burgess, and they responded enthusiastically.

In response, following the presentation of scholarships, Mr Burgess also thanked the sponsors, students and university staff. He encouraged the students to spend their funds wisely and to advise their sponsors of how it had benefited them.

He went on to praise the Development Trust staff and in particular Trust Consultant Renée Gallina-Morris, to whom he presented a bouquet of flowers. Mr Burgess said: “I will wear my MBE with pride on medal days. But it would not have been possible without Renée and her team. This honour is really one for the Harper Adams Development Trust and I want to thank them all.”

This year’s scholars are:

The Pig Industry Scholarships

Devenish Nutrition (NEW): Anna Carmichael, Mark Cuddy
GE Baker UK Limited (NEW) - Quality Equipment: Henry Bowsher
CEVA Animal Health Limited Scholarship (NEW):  Christina Gale
Rattlerow Farms: William Symons
ForFarmers: Wes Udall
Cargill Animal Nutrition: Charlotte Farrow

The Poultry Industry Scholarships

Aviagen - Lauren Milligan
Banham Poultry  - Laura Todhunter
Bernard Matthews - Lowri Bethan Jones, Michael Edwards
Cargill Meats Europe - Zoe Cutmore, Bethany Tomlinson
Faccenda - Hayley Neale, Sarah Heseltine, Georgina Manns, Emily Hickman, Harriet Gregory, James Laarveld
Gressingham Foods - Joshua Heath, John Morrow
Kellys Turkeys - Callum James Norman
P D Hook - Samuel John Wellicome
Moy Park - Emily Hughes

The HA Club Scholarships:

Final Year - Sam Green
Postgraduate - Joseph Allin
President's Award - Thomas Wareham and Beth Hanson
Extended Foundation Degree - Olivia Muir, Aimee Withinshaw

The Studley College Trust Scholarship
Lee Higgins, Sally Leese, Adam Montgomery, Jessica Ravenhill-White, Clare Durose and Beth Hanson

The Clyde Higgs Undergraduate Scholarship:
Aimee Ash, Laura Elliott, Elizabeth Harris, Andrew Harrison, Lee Higgins, Joseph Morrell

The Clyde Higgs MSc Scholarship: 
Omer Collins, Matthew James Newson

Douglas Bomford Trust: 
William Ashton, James Charnley, John Nixon, Thomas Sutton 

The Mercer Scholarship: Lewis Trim

The KWS Scholarship: Henrietta Wells

CLA Charitable Trust Scholarship:  Ellis Cooney 

The CLAAS Scholarship: John Jackson

Barham Benevolent Fund Studentship: Laura Palczynski

The Langford Scholarship: Alistair Sibbett

The Lord Stafford Scholarship: Shannon Rose Mc Donnell

The Syngenta Scholarship: Alice Clews

The HAU Hospitality Scholarship (NEW): Reuben Wilson

The John Hepworth Scholarship: Ruaridh Maxwell, Kate Spottiswood

The McConnel Scholarship: William Ashton

The Millichope Foundation Scholarship: Ellen Louise Humphrey

The Newport & District Agricultural Society Scholarship: Kym Smith

The Velcourt Scholarship – Arable: Matthew Carter

The Velcourt Scholarship – Dairy: Jack Elworthy 

The Jean Jackson Charitable Trust Scholarship: Anoushka Nutting, Jay Williams

The Jerman Scholarship: Llifon Davies, Ellen Humphrey, Alex Robinson

The Lord Leverhulme Charitable Trust Scholarship: Samuel Cole, Sam Green

The Jill Willows Scholarship: Aimee Ash, Daniel Thomas Jones

The Worshipful Company of Poulters Scholarship: Matthew Morrow

The Wilson Wraight Scholarship (NEW): Rachel Croker

The JSR Farming Group Scholarship (NEW): Sophie Boyce, Oliver French

The John Longwill Agricultural Scholarship: Lucy Earland, Emma Fletcher, Mollie Gilbert

The Tim Chick Scholarship: Bradley Humber

Dalehead Foods: Ellen Burrough, Emily Collins

The Harper Adams In Ireland Scholarships:

Dunbia -Lee Higgins 
Elanco - Connor Donaldson
Keenan- Matthew Morrow
Alltech Ireland - Lauren Johnston, James Law
Devenish Nutrition - Catherine Gawn, Jack McFarland
Portora Royal School -  Brandon Aiken, James Law, Jack McFarland
The Vaughan Trust - Connor Donaldson, James Law, Jack McFarland

The Staffordshire & Birmingham Agricultural Society Scholarship: 
Nicola Blowey, Harry Bowers, Edward Calcott, Grace Gibbs, Lauren Turner, Reuben Wilson 



Cookies on the Harper Adams University website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.