Skip to main content
Harper Adams University logo


    Posted 13 March 2002

    MORE THAN 150 students and guests packed into the Tern Hill Hall Hotel, Shropshire, earlier this month for the 2002 Harper Ireland dinner.

    Those who attended were treated to a sumptuous four-course meal and an evening of fine entertainment provided by band The Craic, as well as a brace of speakers who shared their experiences of the farming industry both north and south of the border.

    John McAllister, Deputy President of the Young Farmers' Clubs of Ulster, spoke about the importance of the work of the Young Farmers' Clubs and Mairead McGuinness, a well-known journalist in the Republic of Ireland and presenter of Ear to the Ground, shared her observations with an appreciative audience.

    Harper Ireland is an association, run by students from the island of Ireland, for students from the island of Ireland who are studying in England at Harper Adams University College, Shropshire.

    The association holds an annual dinner that marks the changeover between their old and new committee and organises social functions and events throughout the year. The 2002 dinner marked the launch of the Harper Ireland web-site, which can now be found on-line at:

    Harper Adams is the UK's largest specialist institution of Higher Education for the land and food-based industries and is now attended by almost 1,800 students, of which 10 per cent come from either Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland.

    These students are currently studying courses in Agriculture, Agri-food Marketing, Animal Health & Welfare, Business, Engineering & Design, Land, Countryside & Environment and Leisure & Landscape courses.

    Harper Adams also runs a University Access Course as a stepping stone into HE for students who would not ordinarily have suitable qualifications and over the next couple of years, will introduce courses in Applied Biology, IT and Tourism & Business Management.

    For further information, please contact Admissions on +44 (0) 1952 815 000 or E-mail - alternatively, why not log on to the Harper Adams web-site:



    1) The outgoing Harper Ireland Committee (L-R) David Beattie, Co. Cavaghan; Michael Gillen, Co. Waterford; Maeve Moran, Co. Mayo; Graeme Treadwell, Co. Louth; Judith McGaffin, Co. Down; Connor Keane, Co. Laois; Karl Cooney, Co Louth.

    2) The Harper Ireland Chairmen (L-R) Peter Coburn, Co. Tipperary; Principal Professor Wynne Jones; Graeme Treadwell, Co. Louth.

    3) Speakers and guests at the Harper Ireland Dinner (L-R) Mr John McAllister, Mr P. J. McArdle, Peter Coburn, Co. Tipperary, Principal Professor Wynne Jones, Mr Liam Da Poar, Mrs Mairead McGuinness.

    4) The incoming Harper Ireland Committee (L-R) John Carson, Co. Fermanagh; Trevor Cronin, Co. Cork; Louise Robinson, Co. Down; Ed O'Donnell, Co. Tipperary; Peter Coburn, Co. Tipperary; Eoin Horgan, Co. Limerick; Grace Covitz, Co. Dublin; Edwin Cooper, Co Laois.

    Cookies on the Harper Adams University website

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time.